U.S. Department of Health and Human Services-Health Resources and Services Administration

under the Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students (or the HRSA-SDS) Program

For the years 2013-2017, the College received $2.6 million from the HRSA-SDS program. It was used to supplement the educational costs of qualified students attending the Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy and provided much-needed assistance to those qualified students pursuing their professional studies.  About 161 qualified students received, on average, $4,000 each in a scholarship. About 161 qualified students will receive, on average, $4,000 each in a scholarship for the current academic year. This year’s SDS grant provided scholarships to 15 P1s who, on average, received $3,960; 28 P2s who, on average, received $3,960; 56 P3s who, on average, received $3,960; and 53 P4s who, on average, received $4,102 each.


In academic year 2013-2014, 83.9% of students in 2013-2014 received at least $1,000 in scholarships with over 175 scholarships in 2013 ranging from $1,000 to $3,900.

Bexar County Pharmacy Association Endowed scholarship

Sasha Cruz, Class of 2017

Jeffrey Moran, Class of 2017

CVS/Caremark Charitable Trust Scholarship

Brittany Bateman, Class of 2015

Pamela Bosse, Class of 2015

Jose Garcia, Class of 2016

Ruth Gonzalez, Class of 2016

Dallas Area Pharmacy Association Scholarship

Elizabeth Nkwocha, Class of 2016

D.D. Hachar Charitable Trust and the Lamar-Bruni Vergara Endowed Scholarship

Rocio Olmedo, Class of 2014

George Family Educational Scholarship

Divya Manavalan, Class of 2014

Moore’s Pharmacy Inc./Texas Pharmacy Foundation Endowed Scholarship

Katie Taylor, Class of 2015

P.M. Rangel Family Endowed Scholarship

Rachel Musgrove, Class of 2014

Tarrant County Pharmacy Association Endowed Scholarship

Elizabeth Nkwocha, Class of 2016

Texas Pharmacy Foundation Annual Scholarship

Jessica Schneider

Wal-Mart Scholarship

Annie Lozano

Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Excellence Scholarship

Monica Partida, Class of 2017

Walgreens Diversity Scholarship

Amanda Fuentes, Class of 2014

Ann Nguyen, Class of 2016

Purvi Patel, Class of 2014