skip to main content

Lemke Award

At each MALTO Conference, outstanding presentations are recognized with three sets of awards:

Robert A. Magarian Outstanding Podium Presentation Award
Thomas L. Lemke Outstanding Poster Presentation Award
The Ronald F. Borne Outstanding Postdoctoral Poster Presentation Award

The Thomas L. Lemke Outstanding Poster Presentation Award
Thomas L. Lemke is Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and Associate Dean at the College of Pharmacy at the University of Houston. He received his B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Wisconsin (1962) and went on to complete his Ph.D. in Medicinal Chemistry under Dr. Edward E. Smissman in 1966.

Dr. Lemke went on to work as a Research Scientist for Upjohn from 1966 to 1970 at which time he joined the faculty at the University of Houston as Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, was promoted through the ranks receiving tenure in 1975, then Full Professor in 1984. In 1984 he was honored to spend two years as Visiting Professor at the Institut De Chimie, Universite Louis Pasteur, De Strasbourg, in Strasbourg, France where he worked in the Laboratory of Jean-Marie Lehn, who went on to receive the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Dr. Lemke is also a noted author of several well-known books, one being “Review of Organic Functional Groups, Introduction to Medicinal Chemistry,” and he is one of the editors of the textbook “Foye’s Principles of Medicinal Chemistry.”

Most noteworthy of Dr. Lemke’s contributions is the fact that he was one of the founding organizers of our MALTO organization. He, along with Nelson Voldeng, who we also honor every year with the Nelson Voldeng Memorial Lecture, had the vision and, with a lot of hard work, made it happen.

It is therefore very fitting that we, the MALTO community of scholars (faculty and students), show our great appreciation to Dr. Thomas Lemke for a job well done by naming this award in his honor.


Past Award Winners

Facebook Twitter RSS YouTube Instagram Flickr