White Coat Ceremony

2014 White Coat Ceremony Class of 2017

White Coat CeremonyEach fall, second-year professional student pharmacists join in a nationwide ceremony where they receive their white coats as a symbol of clinical service and care.

The White Coat Ceremony is a solemn, but joyful, recognition of the students’ introduction into the pharmacy profession.  The ceremony is a meaningful tradition in which the College welcomes those students who have completed their first year of study as colleagues dedicated to patient care.  Students recite the Pledge of Professionalism to publicly acknowledge their new responsibilities and willingness to assume the obligation of the profession.

White coat ceremonies traditionally mark the student’s transition from preclinical coursework to professional level clinical coursework.  The White Coat Ceremony, as it is known today, first occurred in 1993 at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, and has since been adopted by numerous colleges and schools involved in the education and training of a range of health and medical professionals.

The Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy introduced the White Coat Ceremony to the pharmacy doctoral program in 2007.  The current coat worn by students is embroidered with the college’s official logo and the student’s name.

The Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy opened its doors to students in 2006 to meet a critical need in the South Texas community where there is a shortage of pharmacists. 

Speakers at the White Coat Ceremony:

Roland PatryClass of 2017, 2014 speaker: Roland A. Patry, M.S., Dr.P.H., FASHP, is professor and regional dean for the Dallas-Fort Worth campuses at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy. Dr. Patry is the director of the Pharm.D.-MBA program; a program that he created.    Diane GinsburgClass of 2016, 2013 speaker: Diane Ginsburg, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP, assistant dean for student affairs, clinical professor of Health Outcomes & Pharmacy Practice at the University of Texas in Austin Class of 2015, 2012 speaker: Linn J. Danielski, M.S., RPh, former president of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists Andres MalaveClass of 2014, 2011 speaker: Andrés Malavé, Ph.D., M.S., dean of Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy
Joseph DiPiroClass of 2013, 2010 speaker: Joseph DiPiro, Ph.D., professor and executive dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, an integrated program of the Colleges of Pharmacy of the University of South Carolina and the Medical University of South Carolina Bill MooreClass of 2012, 2009 speaker: Bill Moore, owner of Moore’s Pharmacy in Sinton and Corpus Christi Robert MangioneClass of 2011, 2008 speaker: Robert A. Mangione, Ph.D., Ed.D., professor and dean of St. John’s University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions in New York City Lucienda MaineInaugural Class of 2010, 2007 speaker: Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., executive vice president and CEO for the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), the national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education and educators

Contact us
 Maria Jaramillo-Gonzalez, executive assistant to the dean, 361-221-0602 or jaramillo@tamhsc.edu