Pharmacy Leadership Society inducts 14 students, 2 faculty

2014-2015 PLS officers

The Texas A&M Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the national Pharmacy Leadership Society, invited 14 students and two faculty members to join its Gamma Mu Chapter April 15 at the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Center. The chapter promotes the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students.

The Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy chapter also presented Joe DaSilva, FACHE, CAE, chief executive officer at Texas Pharmacy Association, to the student body earlier in the day. DaSilva shared the importance of understanding that being a leader sometimes means following, sometimes means not being in control and always means asking why not rather than why.

Inductees are chosen by their peers and the society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. No greater honor can be bestowed upon an individual than to be recognized as a leader by one’s peers.  Such recognition instills and enhances self-confidence, encourages the less active student to take on a more active role and promotes greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy.

The leadership team shared some of their accomplishments with those in attendance, which included Indra K. Reddy, Ph.D., professor and founding dean of the Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy, Charles Douglas, Ph.D., chapter adviser for Phi Lambda Sigma, Phi Lambda Sigma faculty members and members from the Class of 2014 and administrative staff members from the college.

Third-year professional student pharmacist Annie Lozano, president of the Gamma Mu Chapter, shared her favorite quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”

The group had a leadership retreat with presidents of student organizations before the start of the fall semester, which allowed student leaders to begin interacting and planning.

During American Pharmacist Month, Phi Lambda Sigma teamed up with Rho Chi to promote the field of pharmacy in the community. “We created educational pamphlets about the pharmacist profession,” said Lozano, who is from Premont, Texas. “We displayed them at every community pharmacy in Kingsville.”

The 2013-2014 leadership team consisted of Lozano, Mahmoud Sabawi of Portland, Texas, who served as vice president and secretary; Cody Faubion of Ballinger, Texas, who served as treasurer; and Quyen Dau of Sugar Land, Texas, who served as delegate.

The Class of 2015 inductees were: Brittany Bateman of Boerne, Texas; Pamela Bosse of Sugar Land, Texas; Javier Saenz of McAllen, Texas; Katie Kidd Taylor of Menard, Texas; Meghan Thibeaux of Houston; and Robin Walters of Lubbock, Texas. The Class of 2016 inductees were: Bryan Donald of Corpus Christi, Texas; Kevin Ferrall of Baton Rouge, La.; Ashley Floyd of Corpus Christi, Texas; Amanda Kennedy of Houston; Alyssa Reyes of Kingsville, Texas; Justin Shanks of Houston; Steven To of Sugar Land, Texas; and Maricela Villarreal of Corpus Christi, Texas. Faculty members Anna Brozick, Pharm.D., assistant professor and director of Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experiences, and Andrea M. Luce, Pharm.D., assistant professor of pharmacy practice, were inducted into the chapter.

The new officers for the 2014-2015 year are: Amanda Kennedy, president, Alyssa Reyes, vice president, Ashley Floyd, secretary, Kevin Ferral, treasurer, and Steven To, delegate.